Election News

AG Election Update

  • Texas: In a May 24 run-off election, incumbent Ken Paxton, a Republican, has defeated land commissioner George P. Bush by a margin of 67.9% to 32.1%. Former ACLU attorney Rochelle Garza won the Democratic run-off against Joe Jaworski by a margin of 62.8% to 37.2%. Paxton and Garza will face off in the statewide AG election in November.
  • Alabama: Republican incumbent Steve Marshall prevailed in the primary against Harry Still, III by a margin of 89.7% to 10.3%. Wendell Major is the only Democratic candidate and will automatically advance to the general election in November.
  • Georgia: Republican incumbent Chris Carr held off Trump-endorsed challenger John Gordon by a margin of 73.7% to 26.3%. For the Democrats, state Sen. Jen Jordan defeated the founder of the National Social Justice Alliance, Christian Wise Smith, by a margin of 77.6% to 22.4%. Martin Cowen, a Libertarian, will automatically advance to the November election.
  • Arkansas: Tim Griffin, the current lieutenant governor, defeated Leon Jones in the GOP primary by a margin of 85.4% to 14.6%. There is only one Democratic candidate, Jesse Gibson, and also one Independent write-in candidate, Gerhard Langguth, who both advance to the November general election.
  • To “meet” the state AGs across the nation and read more AG election news and insights, visit The State AG Report