State AG Pulse Season 2 available now

News & Insights

  • Clear

Quick Guide: Iowa: Taking a Commonsense Approach

Whether she is preparing to enforce Iowa’s new privacy law, or working through solutions with businesses in the state, newly-elected Iowa AG Brenna Bird’s philosophy is underpinned by a commonsense approach. In Episode 9 of State AG Pulse in conversation with fellow Midwesterner Meghan Stoppel and former Virginia AG Jerry Kilgore, General Bird talks about…

Read More

Iowa AG Seeks Injunctions to Limit Environmental Damage following Explosion at Shingle Processing Facility

Iowa AG Brenna Bird filed a lawsuit against C6-Zero LLC and a related individual and entity (collectively, “C6-Zero”) seeking compliance with a Department of Natural Resources (DNR) order and state environmental laws following an explosion and fire at the company’s facility. According to the AG’s petition, testing in the wake of a December 2022 explosion…

Read More

Iowa Settles with Centene for $44.4 Million over Medicaid Overbilling Allegations

Iowa AG Tom Miller announced a settlement with managed care company Centene Corp. in connection with allegations that the company, which operated as Iowa Total Care in the state, overbilled Iowa’s Medicaid program for pharmacy benefits and services.

Read More

Teva and Allergan Reach Proposed Settlements Totaling $6.6 Billion over Opioid Allegations

A group of 8 AGs reached agreements with Teva Pharmaceutical Industries Ltd. and Allergan Limited, as well as their respective affiliated entities, to resolve allegations regarding the companies’ roles in contributing to the nationwide opioid crisis. The Teva and Allergan settlements, the latest in a series of settlements between AGs and manufacturers, distributors, and retailers…

Read More